Gourami and Pleco

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

WingedWren

Reaction score
All right, I've got two tanks now. One with my Gourami, not sure what kind and a pleco, which are both roughly about four inches. They're in a six gallon tank. Now, I'm thinking that's a bit small for them. At first, Alfred, the Gourami poked at Chuck the pleco. Now, they just leave each other alone. We also have a new ten gallon tank with just two black mollies. We plan to add some more. The people at PetsMart said we have a female and male molly so..perhaps some little mollies in the future! Anyway, down to my questions.

1) Is the six gallon tank too small for them?

2) If so, should I move Chuck the Pleco in with the mollies? I'm a real beginner. I know some of the basics on which fish to put with which fish. Like putting cichlids or gouramis with mollies is bad... Betta males with betta males is bad... Anyway, tips on that would be appreciated!

We took water from each tank to be tested at the local pet store and the mollies tank was perfectly fine where the six gallon tank was high in nitrates and ammonia. Chuck and Alfred had been in there for about a week. We bought a vacuum gravel cleaner...or whatever you call it. I've been doing 10% water changes for two days now since we got it tested. I would've moved them to the ten gallon tank, but we'd already gotten the mollies and putting Alfred the Gourami with them might not be the best idea... So! Is the high ammonia just due to lack of cleaning and perhaps over feeding? Or is eight inches of fish just too much for a six gallon tank? All right, that's all for now. Thanks!

Laurie

Hi Laurie, welcome.

You have quite a raft of different questions there, so I'll try to unpick your post and work out what you really need to know.