Gbr Breathing Heavily?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Messi

Reaction score
Just got a pair of German blue rams a few days ago and they seemed sorta happy and everything apart from being aggressive to other fish. But now I payed closer attention to them it seems like they're breathing very fast and I was wandering if this was normal or something I should address? Below is a video of the pair, and yes I know the female is deformed, that's why you should try and avoid buying fish online, you never know what to expect!

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7IhcBXq-Ovo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I'm not experienced with Ram cichlids and this is the first time I've actually kept a pair of them so I don't really know what to do.

Also my tank parameters are decent, the temp is around 25*C which I'm trying to increase but my 300w heater doesn't get any warmer even if I notch up the thermostat.

Have you done a water change? Maybe there isn't enough oxygen. I have four rams (which I ordered online with great success), and they never display such behavior. If you can, add another heater and gradually bring the temperature up. Do a water change, and, to be safe, add a bubble stone and oxygen pump. This will help with it gave agitation which can improve CO2 and O2 exchange.

Do you have a sand substrate?

Are any other fish displaying symptoms?

Are there any physical abnormalities on the fish (fin tears, red spots, etc)?

What are your water parameters?

Also, welcome to the site!

attibones said: