Fluval Flex vs. C-vue 40

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

TWynnB

Reaction score
Greetings!
I am new to the hobby and obsessively planning a set up and everything that follows. I initially was going to get a 20 g tank, but seeing that bigger is easier, increased to somewhere b/w 30-50. The stand I have is the limiting factor at 40 inches x 22 inches and quite solid.
Notes- I have upper body mobility issues, so will need lower depth (preferably under 18") and the easier the better.
The AIO are appealing because...well, easier. My top two are the c-vue 40 and the fluval flex 32.5. My thoughts are:
C-VUE:
---40 gallons!
---low iron glass
---excellent reviews
---no cover, no lights.
---36"x18"x14"
---they have sock filters and apparently many opt to replace these.
---more expensive, but with low iron glass seems reasonable. Not outside of budget.

FLUVAL:
---32.5 gallons, smaller but still nice size for beginner
---people love them. excellent reviews
---33"x16"x15"
---I see many changing out lights, and changing out or improving filter system.
---does come with light and cover (which looks really nice)

I am planning hardy more passive fish as a beginner and nothing unique. I will have some real plants to help the cycle and make life easier.

Does anyone have thoughts, experiences, concerns with the above? Any other recommendations? I did like the fluval bow 45 g as well but seems discontinued and a little deep at 20". My concern is that so many replace items because not appropriate - I don't want to buy an AIO and then change things out at added expense. Both of these are beautiful set ups to me with everything hidden.

Thanks!

bumpy bump bump :)
never seen the tanks but hopefully someone else has and can offer some ideas.

I would go with the Flex. Design is flawless and the filter is amazing. The lights are also super good.

Thanks.