Fish Staying At Top Of Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Jedward

Reaction score
Can someone tell me whether these fish are supposed to constantly swim around the top of the tank? I need help as I am new to keeping tropical fish. Thanks,
Jed

Attachments

• P80107882.JPG
    P80107882.JPG
    18.6 KB · Views: 69
Do they look as though they are gasping for air? If so, then there is probably not enough oxygen in the tank.
What are your water stats? Knowing this may also help determine the problem.

Do they look as though they are gasping for air? If so, then there is probably not enough oxygen in the tank.
What are your water stats? Knowing this may also help determine the problem.

I did have it tested a couple of weeks ago, and it had a high ammount of ammonia. I have been regularly replacing 20 - 30 % of the water with fresh but to be honest, the fish don't seem to have a problem doing what they're doing, would they look like they were panicking if they were gasping for air? I also have other fish like catfish which don't stay at the top, is this normal?

It's not normal for Clown loaches to be constantly at the top of the tank as they are a bottom dwelling fish.
What size tank is it and what type of filter have you got? Have you got the filter positioned so that it is creating plenty of surface movement?
It is also worth investing in a liquid test kit to keep an eye on your water stats, that way you can monitor the tank.

It's not normal for Clown loaches to be constantly at the top of the tank as they are a bottom dwelling fish.
What size tank is it and what type of filter have you got? Have you got the filter positioned so that it is creating plenty of surface movement?
It is also worth investing in a liquid test kit to keep an eye on your water stats, that way you can monitor the tank.