first tank kit and fish

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

cecilbdemented

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Im totally new to this, helped keep friends fish for a month or so when he was away so i know what to expect with caring etc - never experienced illness etc luckily but thats something to look forward to...

To my question - i was looking at getting the Biorb as it comes with all needed for the tank - filters etc, and i just have to buy its heater/thermostat accessory to make it tropical.
Do you thin this is ok for an introduction? Its 30 litres, about 8 gallons i think (may be wrong though), real small but i dont have room for much more at the moment. If not what would you suggest?
Oh, and its spherical like a goldfish bowel.
secondly - be it the biorb of something else, what fish would you suggest? obviously something small and comparably hardy but theres soo many around especially when you get into different types of a species. Would the shape of the biorb restrict what fish? I heard that some like the surface, some are bottom dwellers and some in between - would i go for inbetween ones?

im getting impatient already - started looking at tanks etc yesterday and the suspence is killing me...

thanks in advance
C

How much is a bio-orb about £70 or £80 if I remember? For that price you can get a really nice 2nd hand or used tank, you'll get much more for your money and be able to keep much better fish.

IMO a bio-orb is okay for a few whiteclouds and some guppies maybe some cardinal tetras (almost identical to neons but hardier) but by that stage you are already overstocked I'm afraid!! I agree the design of it is quite beautiful but remember it is only plastic (acrylic) it will scratch really easily especially if it has algae and you try to remove it!

I would hold out to get a bigger tank, there are some real bargains for tanks, check your local small ads paper. Where abouts do you live?

Hi.