First Betta from LFS - fin rot!!?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

lukeprice

Reaction score
Hello

I would really appreciate some advice. I bought my first Betta from my LFS as my son picked it out to replace one of his fish that wasn't suitable for our tank.

I asked advice from the store assistant about suitable tank mates and parameters and was happy that my tank would be a suitable home for the Betta.

After getting the fish back home and settling him into my tank I have been increasingly worried about his fins; I think he may have fin damage or fin rot. I bought the fish two days ago and the store assistant made no mention of this whatsoever and as I am new to Bettas I took him at his word.

Please could you take a look at the attached photo (I tried to upload a video but wasn't able to) and let me know your thoughts. Also, if it is fin rot/damage what would be a good course of action. My thoughts are either give the guy a new home and hope he heals and tell the store I'm not impressed. Or take him back and replace him with a healthy Betta. Advice on this would also be helpful.

Thanks for your time

IMG_20200827_221901.jpg

Hello and welcome to the forum! :hi:

Definitely looks like fin rot.

Perform 70%+ water changes per day for a week. This should clear of all that infection.

You need to get any medications, as they usually just complicate things. Also no need to return him.

I must ask... is the betta in the tank with other fish? (You mentioned you asked the worker about tank mates)

Hello and welcome to the forum! :hi:

Definitely looks like fin rot.

Perform 70%+ water changes per day for a week. This should clear of all that infection.

You need to get any medications, as they usually just complicate things. Also no need to return him.

I must ask... is the betta in the tank with other fish? (You mentioned you asked the worker about tank mates)
Hello and thank you for the advice and welcome.