Entertaining/Energetic Fish

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Freddy Robins

Reaction score
Hey all I've been keeping fish for about 2 years now and would say I'm avid in the hobby. I started with a 20 gallon, and have worked my way up to a 55, and after an outbreak in my tank about 2 months ago I can now confidently say it has been irradicated. I am looking to restock my tank, which is now left with 3 emperor tetras and a handful of Amano shrimp, and would like an entertaining or energetic fish/fishes to put in the tank. Something that either has some personality or zooms around the tank would be cool. If anyone has any suggestions it would be much appreciated.

I would increase you emperor tetras to about 7-8
As for active fish, be sure you dont get ones that are too active they will stress the calm ones. If you have sand you could get some kuhli loaches or corydoras. They have cool personalities and are very fun to watch. They both need to be in groups of at least 5-6, the more there are the more fun they are to watch

I would get some rosy barbs. I have 4 neon rosy barbs in my 36 gallon, with pearl gourami, and Corydoras. They just zoom all over and never stop.

Id vote for 6-8 corydoras (pick a species) and perhaps a bolivian ram...

Would GBR's work? I was looking at some different rams and really like the look of them
Not in hard water they wouldnt. Rams require soft water. If one has hard water one wants to stick with live bearers like mollies platys guppys. All tetras RAMs and S. American cichlids are soft water fish including corydoras as well.

Not in hard water they wouldnt. Rams require soft water. If one has hard water one wants to stick with live bearers like mollies platys guppys. All tetras RAMs and S. American cichlids are soft water fish including corydoras as well.
You could also do rift lake cichlids

What are the tank dimensions (length x width x height)?