Dslr...

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

qwikimpss

Fish Addict
Reaction score
My wife and I are finally taking the plunge and picking up a DSLR. She wants it to take pics of our 8 month old and I want it for, what else, taking pics of my tanks.

We found a deal on a Nikon D70 body with a little under 7,000 actuations, AF Nikkor lens 35-80mm f4-5.6, 256MB compact flash card (will be upgraded to 8-16 gig), rechargable battery, original box, etc etc for $330 (about 205 pounds/242 euros)

Is this a good camera or are we buying a POS? And, if it is a good cam, what kind of lens should I be looking for to take some good pics of my fish?

I'm no camera expert, but from what little I have done in the past few weeks on my photography course I'd be against buying anything only able to go from f4-f5.6 if that's what it means. The lens sounds pretty good though, you'd be able to get some really nice close up shots.

Personally (depending on where I'm shooting... and imparticular the tanks), I need to put it on a very low f value (say... 3.6-4) and then a relatively slow shutter speed to even get it slightly exposed correctly.

But for example if you wanted to take a picture on a bright day of something that was moving then you'd want a significantly high f of say... 12-16 and a faster shutter speed of say 1/125 - 1/250 ish.

Like I said, no camera expert... but if the f values are that limited then I wouldn't be that interested in buying it cause I think you could find you're limiting yourself... particularly with regards to fish. However for baby/family pics it should be fine.

D70 is pretty long in the tooth now but is still a pretty capable camera, the 35-80 is pretty average and a slightly odd focal length on an crop sensor camera like the D70, but by no means terrible. I'd say the price is more or less fair, but not exactly a bargain.