Do I need water from the parent’s tank?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

There's a couple of good things to point out when moving fry to a new tank...
1) There's nothing to be gained by [also] transferring polluted water from the parents tank.
2) Unlike full grown fish, fry, even many, generate very little ammonia. moving a sponge filter from another established tank probably has sufficient BB to handle the slight ammonia generated. You can add BB supplements, but I've never found it necessary.
3) For the very best fry health and growth, do frequent sufficient water changes to ensure a high [fresh] water quality.
4) Remember that unlike adult fish, fry need to be fed small amounts frequently 3 or more times a day. I feed new fry every 2-3~ hours during the day. (Like 8am, noon, 3, 5, 7) giver or take.
Ok thanks. This is my first time having fry so I don’t have any experience

I have looked for it at the LFS but they did not carry it so I do not know if it is any good or not.

Livebearer fry are large enough to be able to eat powdered flake food from the start. Just use your fingertips to crush a flake or two to powder and let it float. As these are mollies, the "vegetarian" base flakes are best, like Omega One's Kelp Flake.

Dried leaves also help; the infusoria produced as the leaves decompose is ideal food for all fry, and experiments have shown the fry develop faster with dried leaves in the tank. I use oak leaves collected from my rear garden in the autumn, but most any hardwood (non-fruit) is fine. Or you can buy almond leaves in some fish stores.

That’s what I’ve been doing. I know companies sell fry food. Is that just a marketing thing?