Do fish move?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Penguin

Reaction score
Yo guys,

As I am new to looking after fish my knowledge can be written on the back of a postage stamp. So hopefully one of you guys might give us a clue?

The thing is, I inherited a 10 gallon tank when I moved into my new gaff. The fish did not look too happy then as the filter pump type unit was screwed and was pumping about a teaspoon/day. I have fixed that now so the water should be nicely filtered. I have done several water changes making sure to use water treatment.

I currently have 5 Neon's, 6 glowlights, 2 peppered catfish, 1 hugh gourmi (spelling?) and 5 fastly dwindling guppy's. It's the guppy's that have the problem. They just seem to sit on the bottom for a few days making the slightest effort to get to the surface. whilst sat on the bottom they gulp abit like they are short of air? and then die! the thing is they only die one at a time and all the other fish seem unaffected. Saying that the neon's and glowlights just seem to sit in the same place like they are stuck by an invisable bungy. Is this a sign of stress or illness?

So any ideas? Stuff to try?

one other question, what sort of water current conditions do they prefer? fast moving or reasonably still?

Cheers guys

Penguin over and out!

No wonder they're unhappy, you're way overstocked for a 10 gallon tank. Is this a new or established tank? Also, we need water parameters before we can tell what the problem is, but it does sound like an ammonia spike. You need to get the water tested at your local fish shop or get a test kit and test the water yourself. Once you have the results post them here and then we will be able to go from there.

Yup over stocked but you moved them so theres some stress there. tHEY should bounce back soon enough