diy co2

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

vanderdraay

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
hi its been a while since i last posted but would love some help ,imade a simple diy system with the 2litre coke bottles but i need advice on stopping the gas at night when the lights are off ,are there any systems i can make to allow the gas to be switched off at night ,my tank is a jewel vision 450 i had a system running but stopped due to a heavy build up off algae ,could anyone help advise me on items to add to the system to stop the gas running at night ,as you've probably guessed i'm very new to the plant growth side of things so detailed advice wold be very helpful thanks

Ok I also use diy co2 and what I do since I have so many plants is leave it on at night.I would say you might just want to lieave it in to avoid fluctuations,Plus you cant realy shut it off without taking it out of the tank otherwise the bottle would explode.

If you have fish in the aquarium, you should never have CO2 running during darkness. Darkness meaning whenever the tank lighting is not on full. This is an easy way to poison your fish. I am able to discern the natural buildup of CO2 during darkness which is why it is important to have surface disturbance at night.

CO2 does not displace oxygen therefore having co2 running at night as long as you have a good amount of surface agitation is fine.

CO2 does not displace oxygen therefore having co2 running at night as long as you have a good amount of surface agitation is fine.

"CO2 does not displace oxygen" is a false statement.