Discus Tank Setup - New To The Forum

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

devils17

Reaction score
Hi everyone

im new to this forum so just wanted to say hello and get straight in with a question

Ive been keeping fish for around 8 months and have loved every minute. Have learned a bit from a few mistakes and have had many different types of tropical fish so far but i am wanting to try out discus

The problem i have is that i think my tank may be to small but i will let everyone give there opinion over

so here is the set-up

juwel Lido 120 (Planted and bogwood currently with a bit of slate but this will be removed)
internal bio filter
externel aqua one aquis 1250

i was told between 8 and 10 gallons for each fully grown discus but since my tank is aprox 26 gallons that leaves about 3 fish

is this correct?

thanks in advance

bit small really but perfect for a discus pair,
when keeping in groups shold be 5 plus imo

Its too small. Get yourself a 4 foot 200 L+ tank, fill it with 6-8 good quality discus and go from there. Discus do much better(and look stunning) in groups.

As others said, 10 gallons per Discus, but a minimum group of 5 Discus. Leaves you with a minimum tank size of 50 or 55 gallons. If you can get your hands on a bonded breeding pair (pretty pricey) then that would be suitable for your tank.

thanks guys

Ive been into a few fish shops and have seen discus on there own or in pairs in some tanks and i have questioned the sellers and they have told me that alot that is said about discus is a myth,

has anyone tryed discus in smaller tanks before?

thanks guys

Ive been into a few fish shops and have seen discus on there own or in pairs in some tanks and i have questioned the sellers and they have told me that alot that is said about discus is a myth,