Detritus Worms In Piranha Tank?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

laurac94

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Last week I noticed a tiny squirming white worm in my water column (about half a cm) so I removed it and did a large water change and gravel vacuum. I thought that because I only saw one it wouldnt be much of a problem. Today I have gone to clean the glass, when I looked closer I saw 10- 15 of these worms all along the glass. I am new to keeping piranha and realise they are very messy fish so I keep up with 30% water changes twice a week. I also have around 3x the amount of filtration needed for the water volume.
I have never seen these in any of my previous community tanks hence why I posted in this section.
Do I need to add extra filtration (considering getting a large external filter)
Does anyone know what these worms are and will they harm my piranhas?

I also tried to get a picture but they are so small they just didn't show up:-(
Thanks for any help! :-D

they are called Planaria,

they will not harm your fish, normally caused by overfeeding, and alot of excess food lying around the tank, which is what they feed on.....cut back on the feeding and make sure you scoop out excess food quickly, i know that can be difficult with piranhas because they are so messy,

vaccuum your substate more often and thoroghly, that is where they mostly live and thrive

Thank you!
I've just bought an external filter to replace my other filters which will filter just over 5x the volume of the tank and im going to get another gravel vacuum because my current one is abit rubbish:-( hopefully that will help to sort out the problem along with feeding them less :)

laurac94 said:
Thank you!