Cycling Advice

Essjay

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
16,965
Reaction score
12,656
Location
Teesside, UK
If it's mg/l calcium carbonate, it's very soft water. If it's mg/l calcium (a unit common on UK water company websites) it's still very soft just not quite as soft (max 2.8 dH)
 
OP
OP
ogelthorpe

ogelthorpe

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2022
Messages
52
Reaction score
11
Location
Canada
I think it’s mg/L calcium carbonate. First two columns in the attached (Raw and Treated Water) provide the analysis of our city water supply. Does this make sense?
60BA05C2-835C-4CDA-93C3-79FD331A2193.png
 

Essjay

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
16,965
Reaction score
12,656
Location
Teesside, UK
Looking at the two columns for raw and treated, it appears they are adding something to the water when they treat it. Both alkalinity (which we call KH) and and GH both go up. But the levels they give for KH and GH in treated water are both still in the very soft range.
 
OP
OP
ogelthorpe

ogelthorpe

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2022
Messages
52
Reaction score
11
Location
Canada
Yes indeed. I believe they add a lot of calcium based on what I’m finding online. So I guess stocking wise, I’ll have to focus on fish that do well in very soft water.
 

Byron

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Feb 25, 2009
Messages
17,693
Reaction score
9,129
Location
CA
There is nothing in the water data that would bother me, and whatever the actual number, as @Essjay said, it is very soft. All of the fish species I previously mentioned would thrive in this water. I might want to rethink the numbers, last night was at the end of the day and sometimes I rethink things in the colder light of morning--but the species mentioned are still OK.

See if you can find out what they add to the water; this is not uncommon, they do it here in Vancouver.
 
OP
OP
ogelthorpe

ogelthorpe

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2022
Messages
52
Reaction score
11
Location
Canada
Will see if I can find out what they add. I assume stocking numbers should be lowered on the fish you suggested? You may recall I added ammonia yesterday followed by the Fritzyme turbo 700 bacteria. Just tested ammonia and it’s still at 3ppm but also tested for nitrites and they have climbed to 0.25ppm from 0. Nitrates still at 0. Added more turbo 700. Perhaps some progress here? Thanks again for all your help!
 

Byron

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Feb 25, 2009
Messages
17,693
Reaction score
9,129
Location
CA
Will see if I can find out what they add. I assume stocking numbers should be lowered on the fish you suggested? You may recall I added ammonia yesterday followed by the Fritzyme turbo 700 bacteria. Just tested ammonia and it’s still at 3ppm but also tested for nitrites and they have climbed to 0.25ppm from 0. Nitrates still at 0. Added more turbo 700. Perhaps some progress here? Thanks again for all your help!

If this were me, I would do a water change to get rid of the ammonia. It may work, but you are now waiting for it to do so. I have been setting up new tanks for over 30 years and I have never cycled a tank with ammonia, I let the plants do it.
 
OP
OP
ogelthorpe

ogelthorpe

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2022
Messages
52
Reaction score
11
Location
Canada
If this were me, I would do a water change to get rid of the ammonia. It may work, but you are now waiting for it to do so. I have been setting up new tanks for over 30 years and I have never cycled a tank with ammonia, I let the plants do it.
Ok cool. Will give it a try. Would you suggest like a 50-75% water change?
 

Byron

Fish Guru
Tank of the Month!
Joined
Feb 25, 2009
Messages
17,693
Reaction score
9,129
Location
CA
Ok cool. Will give it a try. Would you suggest like a 50-75% water change?

Yes. Then test ammonia. I am also giving a bit more time to ensure the plants are growing (there are signs they are in the photo, so that's good).
 

Most reactions

trending

Staff online

Top