Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

  1. click here!
    FishForums.net Vote Pet of the Month
    Dismiss Notice

Colombo Flora-Base Below Sand Substrate?

Discussion in 'Planted Chit Chat' started by Creature Seeker, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. Creature Seeker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Hello, I'm in the process of trying to upgrade my tank conditions to help the plants thrive.

    It was reccommended to me to purchase a bag of Colombo Flora-Base.

    Now can I put a layer of this below a top layer of Caribsea Tahitain Moon Sand?

    Also I've heard it can leech ammonia into the tank when first implemented. If this is the case, shall I first soak it in water for a week or so to try and get rid of some of the ammonia?

    Your thoughts are very welcome.
     
  2. RadaR

    RadaR The things we do for our fish..

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    Why would you want to? To bulk it out? It's sold as a substrate to be used on it's own. I've only ever seen it used that way, myself included.
    I guess there would be no harm.

    If you have a mature filter and carry out water changes per day then you shouln't notice any ammonia readings. I didn't notice any.
     
  3. Creature Seeker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    There are two reasons why I want to put a layer of moon sand on top.

    1. I love the look of the black sand and don't really want to change the appearance.

    2. I have burrowing fish that like to burrow in the sand, and also fish wish sensitive snouts and bellies.

    If there was no considerable difference in the visual impact, then I wouldn't use a top layer of black sand. The pack of Flora-Base I have is labelled as Black but it looks more brown to me. Does this look black when wet? Also what consistency does it take when wet? I know I could just open it and check, but I would rather not open it if it is not what I am after as then I may have to return it.

    Thank you.
     
  4. RadaR

    RadaR The things we do for our fish..

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    Well there is a brown version and a black version. But yes, it does look black in the aquarium.
    The shape and size difference between this and the sand is very different. I think the sand would go lost inbetween the flora base granules.
    Flora base is clay based and therefore a really nice soft substrate. It doesn't crumble up but it's so easy to plant in. Burrowing fish would not have a problem.
    I really dig this substrate. Best I've used.
     
  5. Ps3Steveo

    Ps3Steveo Planted Experimentalist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Sorry was reading this and couldn't help but notice "I really dig this substrate" was the pun intended there as it made me chuckle :)
     
  6. RadaR

    RadaR The things we do for our fish..

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    Aye it was :D
     
  7. Creature Seeker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Thank you again for your reply.

    Now it seems that I either have one or the other.

    Do you have any photos of your tank with that substrate?
     
  8. RadaR

    RadaR The things we do for our fish..

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    You can do what you like. I just didnt see the need.

    [​IMG]

    The tank in March.


    [​IMG]
     
  9. ian

    ian plant your tank
    Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    8,354
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lincoln uk
    just to reiterate what RadaR say's...it's also the best planted substrate i have used. I also didn't get any noticeable ammonia spikes. Heres a pic of mine

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I wouldn't cap it.
     
  10. Creature Seeker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    GB
    Thank you both for posting your pictures. Both are lovely tanks and looks perfectly maintained.

    I can see the benefits of using this substrate, but I'm still not certain whether I like the granula look of the substrate. I may have to break the bag open and experiment!
     
  11. mishmash

    mishmash Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is that a RIO 125 tank ? If not whats the footprint and how much florabase did you use to create that depth of substrate ? Thanks
     
  12. RadaR

    RadaR The things we do for our fish..

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    Yeah it's a Rio 125.
    I had a small amount of black gravel in there but I used only one large bag of florabase and it did the job perfectly. It filled the tank more than I thought.
     
  13. ATK!!!

    ATK!!! Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay, Essex
    One 10 kg bag? Please say yes!!!! I was thinking of using it for a rio 180 but Ianho said it would cost around £100.....
     
  14. RadaR

    RadaR The things we do for our fish..

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    Yeah. But like i said there was already some black unipac gravel in there. Not much though. There is a uniform depth of 2inches. Most aquascapers would prefer more substrate to create a slope towards the back of the tank. If you are happy without this then you could get away with two bags.
     
  15. ATK!!!

    ATK!!! Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billericay, Essex
    Oooh, that'd be about £60! Not too bad I guess. I'll have to see how things go, but I'll keep this in mind.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
colombo flora base pro review
,

columbo florabase substrate

,
flora base pro substrate