cocoa potted plants?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

AdoraBelle Dearheart

Nutty fish nutter
Tank of the Month 🏆
Reaction score
So two of my Tropica grown plants have arrived in coconut pots. Tropica website says they can be planted directly even with the pot, but I'm not super keen on leaving any plant potted, I feel like it restricts their growth. Anyone has any luck removing these? One of these in particular the roots have grown through and beneath the pot, so it'll probably have to stay in there. Unless I'm going to be sitting for a while removing these with tweezers hair by hair or something?
DSCF2445.JPG
DSCF2441.JPG

I'm not a huge expert, but I've planted a few crypts that had some sort of wool like material around the roots. It made a giant mess. Going forward I plan on cleaning everything off the roots first. So admittedly a bit apples and oranges, but I'd remove it unless there's a compelling reason not to.

Id remove it if theyre too closely spaced together, but honestly the coconut fibers are pretty aerated so they may not restrict the roots if you plant them just as is.

I'm not a huge expert, but I've planted a few crypts that had some sort of wool like material around the roots. It made a giant mess. Going forward I plan on cleaning everything off the roots first. So admittedly a bit apples and oranges, but I'd remove it unless there's a compelling reason not to.
I got it now, thanks! I just needed to soak them in a water for a bit so I could pull the coco fibres apart :)

Ah, what you had is called rockwool. It's a good growing medium, but yeah, it's messy! I'm used to pulling that away from the roots and rinsing in water to swish that off, but even doing that, it feels horrible, I hate the gritty feeling it gives. Like nails on a chalkboard! Was it in your tank? I dread to think of the mess it would make in a tank, you poor thing!