Co2 for plants

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Matty24

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Currently in the process of cycling my plants tank, I have a co2 set up ready and waiting for when the cycle is complete I have easy plants in the tank at the moment but I want to get the full potential out them should I use a fertiliser aswell as co2 also is there things I should be aware of when starting to inject co2 into the tank Currently there are no fish in the tank but I will slowly start to introduce some over time advice good or bad is much appreciated I am new to aquariums so go easy on me 😅👍

Without aquarium plant fertiliser and really good light, there is no point adding carbon dioxide (CO2) because the plants need the nutrients and light just as much as they need CO2. If you don't have them in the right amounts, the plants don't do that well and algae will often thrive.

You are better off using an aquarium plant fertiliser for a few months and see how the plants do. Then add CO2 after if you want to. However, there is plenty of CO2 in the aquarium. It is produced continuously by filter bacteria and fish. You also get CO2 in the water from the air.

If you have a plant only tank without fish, or only a few small fish, then supplemental CO2 can help the plants. But in an average aquarium that contains a number of fish, you do not need to add CO2.

-----------------
KH (Carbonate Hardness)

Adding CO2 to an aquarium can drop the pH very quickly. This is due to CO2 being an acidic gas (the pH of CO2 is below 7.0). You need to make sure the aquarium water has a KH (carbonate hardness) over 60ppm (and preferably over 100ppm). The KH neutralises acids in the water and stops the pH dropping. If you don't have enough KH in the water, the pH can drop literally overnight and the fish can die.

-----------------
CO2 on at night