Clown loaches poorly

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Ernie

Reaction score
Hi all.
I have had my loaches for at least 18 months and they are looking sick. None of the other fish in the tank are displaying any of the symptoms that they are. They keep laying under rocks and plants on their side without moving. Plus breathing quickly.
Please help.

Attachments

• 35320015-DE45-4901-A2F7-2543C6EDDB63.jpeg
    35320015-DE45-4901-A2F7-2543C6EDDB63.jpeg
    210.1 KB · Views: 31
  • 8CB76E2C-1467-4A42-AD15-499A871B3886.jpeg
    8CB76E2C-1467-4A42-AD15-499A871B3886.jpeg
    144.2 KB · Views: 32
  • 2BEC37D2-2811-45BA-84B9-8E048221327B.jpeg
    2BEC37D2-2811-45BA-84B9-8E048221327B.jpeg
    176.3 KB · Views: 29
If this were me, I would do an immediate major water change and raise the temperature of the tank water to 30C/86F or a tad higher. My reasoning is that this is ich or velvet. But I am no expert in disease issues, and members like @Colin_T will know and be able to advise.

In the interim, can youi provide members with more data...tank size, fish species and numbers, water conditions as tested (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate) and parameters (GH and pH especially).

Hi Byron,
Thanks for your reply.
Tank is 240 litre
I have 4 clown loaches
1 red tail shark
Three snail eaters
1 harlequin
11 rummy tetras
6 ex ray tetras
5 ember tetras
2 black mollies.

I donā€™t have test kit at home. Usually go to my fish shop round the corner for this. So canā€™t give immediate conditions.

Hi all.
I have had my loaches for at least 18 months and they are looking sick. None of the other fish in the tank are displaying any of the symptoms that they are. They keep laying under rocks and plants on their side without moving. Plus breathing quickly.
Please help.
Being scaleless, loaches are more prone to skin complaints and the likes of fungus, velvet and Ich., (or is it that they're more obvious on loaches sooner?)