Changing To Dirt Substrate ?

kylealastairlove

Fish Addict
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
776
Reaction score
0
Location
leicester
i've been thinking i want to change to a dirt substrate, being as my sand can get quite dirty and not very attractive at times, and my plants dont seem to be growing very much at all. i think it'd be best for my tank and plants with a dirt substrate, anyways my question is whats the cheapest form of dirt substrate, and my sand substrate is about 1-2 inch deep right now i will be getting rid of most of it but how deep should the layer of sand be that i place on top of the dirt ?

Thanks :)
 

micko

drive it like you stole it.
Joined
Mar 10, 2011
Messages
2,372
Reaction score
1
Location
Doire, Eire
I've seen various Youtube videos of this being done and some have used soil from their garden and some say use a proper compost- John Innes number 3, others use compost from their compost bin. This will of course be dependant on what you put into your compost bin and be dependant on whether you put any potentially harmful chemicals into your garden.
As I haven't used any of these methods I cannot comment on them but the top layer of substrate seems to be from an inch to two inch on any of the successful tanks I've seen done in this way.

I think a major isuue with this style is that people don't plant their tanks out enough prior to adding water then want to add more to it and the tank becomes very muddy. Filling the tank slowly will also be very helpful so as you don't disturb the substrate. Again, I've seen videos that cover the plants and substrate with a plastic sheet while filling which seems to work.
 

stu40

PRC
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1,342
Reaction score
0
Location
Gloucestershire, UK
I think a major isuue with this style is that people don't plant their tanks out enough prior to adding water then want to add more to it and the tank becomes very muddy. Filling the tank slowly will also be very helpful so as you don't disturb the substrate.

+1
filing with an airline or small bore tubing, or using a sieve help a lot.From what i've read, plan it right, plant it, then keep your hands out as much as possible.
Tinkering is definitely not the order of the day.
I also think you need to sieve the dirt/compost before adding & cap it.
 

LucyB

Fish Herder
Joined
Aug 19, 2011
Messages
1,039
Reaction score
2
Location
GB
I dirted my tank at the beginning of the year, never looked back :good: I am constantly trimming and re-planting plants now! :D
 
OP
OP
kylealastairlove

kylealastairlove

Fish Addict
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
776
Reaction score
0
Location
leicester
thanks people :) this whole dirt thing is starting to sound better and better, does it really make such a big difference to plant growth ? :) and i went through a phase where i liked to change my tank around a lot so i'll have to plant it all up and refrain from moving stuff around :p
 

Tara Vasquez

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
All right
jhkh.gif
 

Most reactions

Top