Celestial Pearl Danios and Congo Tetras - good idea or not?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

hazyvonne

Reaction score
Hello everyone, newbie here ^_^ I've never had fish before and I want to make sure I do things right. I have finished cycling both a 55g main tank and a 10g quarantine tank. The main tank is pretty well planted with all kinds of anubias, tiger lotus, various stem plants, baby dwarf tears etc (and also has a large number of bladder snails that hitchhiked their way into the tank even though I bleach dipped all plants as well as 3 assassin snails that are supposed to keep things in check now). In my quarantine tank I currently have my first ever fish - 6 Celestial Pearl Danios (who I already utterly adore). Barring any illnesses, they should be able to move into the main tank in another 2 weeks or so. So of course, I'm already thinking about what else to get once the quarantine tank is free again. I'm pretty sure I want some peacock gudgeons at some point (and my research says that should be fine) but when I got the CPDs at my LFS I saw some Congo Tetras in there and I really liked those. Now my internet research had some very ambivalent results, some people claim Congos and CPDs should be no problem at all since both are super peaceful others claim that without a doubt the Congos, once fully grown, would eat the CPDs. I'd probably get 6 Congos if that makes any difference. Does anybody have any experience with Congos and CPDs or even Congos with small 1 inch fish?

Sorry, I canā€™t help, but some experienced people here. I can usually get great info on google or YouTube too