brand new to the hobby...super confused about cycling my tank!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

sarah009

Reaction score
Hi Everybody!

I'm new to fish keeping and I'm really excited to get into the hobby. I've been doing loads of research for months and feel pretty comfortable with everything except cycling the tank. At first I was fine with it, but the more I research the more confused I get. I have a 15 gallon tank, heavily heavily planted and its been running for a week or so. I plan to put in 3 dwarf puffers. I have the API master test kit. Ive been testing and adding in fish flakes daily for a source of ammonia. Current levels are PH 7.2, Ammonia 0.25ppm, Nitrite 0ppm, Nitrate 10ppm. The levels don't really make sense to me at this point in the cycling process, so I'm not sure what's going on there. Also I've read conflicting info on adding fish flakes vs adding ammonia -- like fish flakes are a messy slow way, and adding ammonia is the fast way but also doesn't always have the best results in terms of the beneficial bacteria grown. Then last night I was watching one of Cory's videos from Aquarium Co-op, whom I adore, and he was saying that often times in heavily planted tanks you won't even get correct water readings when testing since the plants use up so much of the Ammonia. It sounds to me from what he was saying that as long as you have a heavily planted tank, plant growth, and algae growth, then your tank is "alive" and you can put fish in. Can someone point me in the right direction?!

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

In a planted aquarium, the plants will use ammonia as a source of food when the tank lights are on. Your ammonia test kit will still read any ammonia in the water, but the plants can reduce the amount of ammonia in the water when they absorb it and use it to grow.