Blue legged hermit crab...multiplied?!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Stacyvamp

Reaction score
This is totally going to sound weird, but I bought two blue legged hermit crabs, yesterday, and today, I see a third one, without a shell? It looks like it’s molting, from what I’ve read online. This is my first time having these creatures, so I have no idea what’s going on. I attached two photos, Both shells are taken up with the crabs that I bought, but next to the second shell, there is a pair of blue legs and white meaty substance..... I put it next to the shell but it was originally found this morning under a rock....
Someone please explain how this is possible? I double checked, both shells are indeed taken up by the crabs, I can see their legs sticking out and they are moving. So where did this third one come from? and what do i do with it since it doesn't have a shell

Attachments

• E628AC31-C52C-40A4-A4E7-72A74B439F3A.jpeg
    E628AC31-C52C-40A4-A4E7-72A74B439F3A.jpeg
    215.8 KB · Views: 44
  • 6BA327D4-0258-4EB8-A7B0-A5A3DDF651BE.jpeg
    6BA327D4-0258-4EB8-A7B0-A5A3DDF651BE.jpeg
    272.9 KB · Views: 45
From what I can remember molts do not have eyes... double check for that first. You got them yesterday? May be a little sign of stress if he left the shell? Or he could of molted, usually done on sand. They can stress a little if they are not happy with shells available, we used to put a few extra shells in as they sometimes move home for a nice change, or even kick each other out of there home to pinch it! See if its alive first and not just molted if you can.