Blue Gourami Male to Female agression

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

paul0804

Reaction score
I am relatively new to keeping gourami, Iā€™ve had my pair of blue gourami in my community tank for about 6 months now. Both make and female look healthy, colours are bright and they both come out to eat eagerly at feeding times. However, when theyā€™re not feeding the female goes to the back of the tank behind the plants and lies on the substrate (upright). When ever she comes out of hiding, the male will instantly spot her and dash for her, pecking at her body in the same spot (just in front of the tail) until sheā€™s goes back into hiding. He will also flare up his fins putting his body in front of hers. My guess is that heā€™s trying to ā€˜get her interestedā€™. Although this is a constant thing now, and looks quite violent, the female shows no signs of damage or weakness. I was wondering whether this is something to look over, as the female is doing fine, or something thatā€™s going to need action. Thank you in advance.

Are these the blue variant of dwarf gourami or the blue variant of three spot gourami? If you don't know, can you post a photo.

Both these species are on the more aggressive end of the gourami spectrum, and a male can hound a female to death. The usual recommendation is to have at least 2 females so each one gets time out while the male pesters another. But before you do this we need to know which of the two gourami species you have and how big the tank is, both volume and dimensions.
Being kept in a tank that's too small can make some fish more aggressive, another reason we need to know the tank size.