Bio-spira

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

earthbound mermaid

Reaction score
I am a new fish hobbyist and, prior to even buying a tank, read four books on tropical fishkeeping and surfed the net looking for information. I purchased a 30 gallon tank, undergravel filter, power filter, etc. and set up my tank. I was planning on doing "fishless" cycling until I read of a new product called Bio-Spira by Marineland Labs. After you condition your tap water to remove chlorine, ammonia, etc., adjust for hardness/PH, the product allows you to add fish within 24 hours of your setting up your tank. You add a package (more or less depending on the size of your tank) of Bio-Spira and after a short wait (in my case, 8 hours), you can add fish. I added 6 tiger barbs. Over the next four days I water tested for ammonia and nitrite and got zero readings for both. This stuff is great! It has received endorsements from the New York Aquarium, Tulsa Aquarium as well as commercial fish hatcheries and on-line users say it is the only stuff that works. (Forget Cycle, Stresszyme et al.) The reason I wanted to post a message to fellow enthusiasts is this: I live in a large metropolitan area and had to drive 40 miles to find Bio-Spira. Not one store that carries fish supplies in the city in which I live carries it. Moreover, when I asked if it could be ordered, I was told that other products, like Cycle, would do as well, but there was no way to avoid waiting to add fish unless I wanted them to die. My basic question (after all the foregoing) is this: Are hardcore tropical fishkeepers resistant to anything new? I have to say, with the exception of the store where I bought the Bio-Spira, most stores were skeptical, if not downright hostile to the idea of speeding up cycling. I would love to hear from other Bio-Spira users as well as traditional "cyclists".