Biggest Aquarium Market in the World? - GuangJoe's South China adventures.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Guangjoe

Reaction score
Hi all - I live about 15 mins drive from the (in)famous Huadiwan pet market in Guangzhou. I have been visiting there for the past ten years - and have seen the place go through many changes (for the better, I must add!). Gone are the wild caught tortoises and turtles, and there was a huge crackdown on the sharks in the marine section.

I plan on making many more videos abut the new location, which looks to be absolutely unprecendented in scale. You can see the new spot here:

And some videos of the original location here:

2020:
2017:
2016:

Please consider subscribing, if you have an account. I am going to make these much more regularly, perhaps weekly as the new spot opens - and will respond to comments in terms of filming what people's specific interests are. I am unfamiliar with marine life, for example - so any requests of that nature would be so welcome - I love to learn and be informed - and will get footage of new areas for me within the hobby!

Thanks,
GuangJoe

Wow! Much bigger than the one in makassar Indonesia that I visited!

Wow! Much bigger than the one in makassar Indonesia that I visited!
Yeah, it's pretty crazy - and they are actually ramping up in scale - the new place is going to be ridiculous! As I stated in the video, I do hope this is ultimately a good thing. I know that seems contradictory, but I'd rather these shops/distributors were in one centralised, much more organised and monitored location. The current market seems a bit on the wild side, literally and figuratively.

Wow. It really is a different world. The scale of the place is incredible.
Id love to hear more about your fishkeeping experiences in China and how it compares..

Wow. It really is a different world. The scale of the place is incredible.