Betta passed away what can I do better?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

nemuipan

Reaction score
I am new to fishkeeping, my Betta died last weekend and I want to try to figure out what went wrong before considering another fish.

She was in a Fluval spec V five gallon with a small heater, the temperature in the tank is 78. It was a planted cycle with gravel, a stone, a piece of driftwood from the local fish store, three anubias and moss. Driftwood boiled and soaked for days to waterlog. Added fish food in there and liquid fertilizer Seachem Flourish. I think cycling started sometime in December.

End of Jan parameters looked good and I got 3 blue dream shrimp from a LFS. 2 weeks later shrimp are doing well and showed no signs of stress and gave birth to a bunch of baby shrimp. I added a female koi pattern plakat betta Loki from a LFS. First night she killed a shrimp so the other two got moved to a shrimp only tank. No signs of stress, water changes once a week, gravel vacuum and glass scraping. Fed northfin Betta bits 5 pellets twice a day skipping Saturday. Zoo med dial a treat occasional snack maybe 2-3 pieces mysis is a fav, dislikes the dried bloodworms. She eats what she wants and leaves the rest, sometimes it's half her pellets sometimes it's just one. All uneaten food is immediately removed as well as any visible poo via pipette. Added catappa leaves into a silicone suction holder near the top of the tank so Loki had a place to rest, this is near the anubias so this is a favorite place to hang out and peek from in-between the leaves.