Best Tank Mates For Frontosa

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

jackel931

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to cichlids and I really like the frontosa. I was wondering what the most compatible tank mates for this species would be. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

If your new to cichlids, I can not advise going with Frontosas to experiment with!!!!
Frankly if anyone advises you to start with them when you have never kept African cichlids their doing a real disservice to the hobby and you.

what is it you like about Fronts? maybe we can work around and find something you'd like and would be easier on the fish and you!

If you absolutely want/need Frontosas in you tank, I recommend you do a lot of reading first in their care. I'm not sure if this is true everywhere else, but at least in my area (So Cal), the common Fronts sold at LFS are Burundi.

To answer your question, Frontosas are carnivores generally requiring a high protein diet. Also keep in mind that the male Fronts can grow out to be 12" and the females to about 10". So make sure you choose a fish that could keep up with its growth so they don't end up making meals out of them. Besides diet, water parameters, growth rate, and aggression I think the best you can do is research, research, research before you make your decision.

In my experiences, I've been successful with White Calvus, Petricola, and even N. Brichardi as tank mates. The N. Brichardis were very aggressive during spawns that it forced my Fronts and the rest of my fish to one side. Eventually, in the end, I moved the tank mates and left the Fronts and Petricolas to themselves.

Hope this helps.

If your new to cichlids, I can not advise going with Frontosas to experiment with!!!!
Frankly if anyone advises you to start with them when you have never kept African cichlids their doing a real disservice to the hobby and you.