Best place to put Co2 Diffuser/Drop Checker

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Sovereignty

Reaction score
Good morning all.
I'll start off by saying I am new to Co2, but I have done research on it, however; I'm facing some... maybe not issues... but... ones that potentially can CAUSE issues down the road if I can't get this figured out?

I bought a Co2 system from my LFS for this tank, its an all-in-1 kit kind of that has both gauges, a bubble counter, and a solenoid which is plugged in to a timer that comes on an hr before lights and turns off an hr before lights turn off. It also came with the drop-checker and diffuser you see in the photo. Initially these two items were switched around the tank. I had my diffuser close to (but not directly under) my filter in hopes the outflow of it would carry the Co2 bubbles through the tank, and then I had my drop checker across the way by the log.

I shared a photo of it on a FB group and a person recommended I switch it, not quite sure why as it made more sense to me to put it near the beginning of the current, but the video they linked and a few other videos I went and searched, the people always put the diffuser opposite the outflow. Strange... but since my drop checker was still blue, I figured I'd give it a shot. It's been 2 days since the change and my drop checker is STILL blue... despite running 2-3 bps in my bubble counter...

However I KNOW there is co2 in the tank, as my source water is 6.6 pH and my tank water is 6.4pH (and this was BEFORE i put the log in, same bps then as now) and I've read Co2 does tend to lower your pH a bit. I don't have a GH/KH kit yet, but i'll be picking one of those up soon.