The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

RCA

Fish Herder
Reaction score
I am no scientist but have a brain and have plucked up the courage to post in this section as I am keen to understand what is now known about the survival of the beneficial bacterial within a filter which has shut down?  I have read some conflicting information, that it will die within a few hours from Oxygen starvation i.e. without water movement through the filter, to it will survive if kept wet, to it will live 72 hours etc.

This is non-scientific but is a young man explaining what happened to his fish following his filter being shut down for about 6 hours, 
Very Bad News (Whitespot Ich) Uploaded on Feb 23, 2012

I did a quick search on the TFF and came across these Topics, which are now quiet old but could add to the debate.

I have yet to read the above in detail as this is the issue I am currently dealing with:
Tank: 215Litre Aquaone 980
Filtration: Overhead filter as per with the tank, plus All Ponds Solution (APS) 1400EF
Aquarium is planted, with a plant substrate and Unipac Senegal on the top and is primarily a Betta Sorority and can be seen here

Last night the APS was making a noise and on checking the spray bar nothing was coming out of it.  I removed the spray bar to check it was not blocked and still no flow coming into the aquarium.  I then gave the filter a bit of a shake to check there was no air lock and some bubbles did flow up the pipe, still no output.  I then turned it off and on again and the tank filled with grime from the hose but it did not maintain flow.  I then decided due to the unknown noise I would shut it off and deal with it in the morning.  Due to a dental appointment and meeting this afternoon, I am yet to begin this work, although could start (unlikely to finish before my meeting) in a few minutes if need be.