Angel fish acting weird

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

PandaaXxFunk

Reaction score
Hello everyone I'm new to the fish world and I have a quick question.
I recently got a Zebra angelfish , I have it in a 30 gallon tank with 5 rummy noses and 4 corys. Every single fish in the tank is thriving and very active except for my angel. Hes my centerpiece in the tank and it sucks to see him so inactive. I know Angel's arent the most active of fish but this one seems a bit off. When my tank light is on he hangs around the top of the tank in a corner and doesnt move, when my tank light is off he starts to become a little more active but barely by much. I want to think its because hes only been in the tank 1 day and hes getting acclimated but like I said, the rest of the fish are thriving. I checked my parameters and nitrates are 0, ph is 7.5 and ammonia is 0.25 ppm. Water is 80 degrees. Could it be the ammonia ? I already did a 25% water change so hopefully it helps. Hes so inactive when the lights are on the rummys start to nip him. What could be going on ?

Let's hope it is just the fish settling into a new environment. What it has gone through from being chased around the store tank, netted, bagged, transported, released into a totally new environment--this is greater stress than any of us can imagine.

Tank lighting can significantly impact fish, even at the best of times. Be careful not to turn it on and off frequently because it takes a fish close to 30 minutes to adjust every time. Have the light on a timer so it is on and off at the same time every 24-hour period. I mention this because you have indicated a differing reaction to the light, and I've no way of knowing what this might refer to.