Ammonia spike + cloudy water

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Paristheprince

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I added 9 new tropical fish to my 30 gallon tank and the next day the water became cloudy and now there is a huge ammonia spike (used to be about 0.5 ppm but now it's like 4 ppm). I did a 10% water change yesterday but the water is still cloudy. I have been adding ammo lock to make the ammonia less toxic to the fish but I am not sure what to do at this point. Should I wait until it clears by itself or should I do something? I use a JUP-02 UV filter and a Aqua filter (3 layer filters). I'm still new to keeping tropical fish so I would really appreciate your help.

Before this I had a suckermouth Catfish that always kept the aquarium dirty with high ammonia levels so I let him go to a new home. The next day the water became crystal clear before I added these new fish but now I have this cloudy water problem. Thank you.

Do a much larger water change, 70-75% of the tank volume. Use conditioner in the fresh water, but no other chemical additive/substance. Do a good vacuum of the substrate during the W/C, dig down well. Also rinse the filter media to remove any organic gunk. You may still see some cloudiness, that is due to floating bacteria that feed on organics, so not harmful and it will clear.

I would not use the ammolock unless a test after the above W/C seems to warrant it.

Next you wish to add new fishes, quarantine them.

Also you said that you originally had an Ammonia reading of .55 before you added the new fish. Have you ever cycled this tank? With a cycled tank you'd never see any reading of ammonia (unless a very unusual event occurred to cause an amonia strike - the only time I've seen it has been when a fish dies and sits in tank a few days.