Alfagrog as a substrate or other clay substrate that does not decrease PH

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

neoyyf

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am looking for a substrate that does not lower PH for a planted tank. Now to my understanding the best substrates for a planted tank are the ones that lower PH but i keep snails so i dont want that to happen as it will dissolve their shells.

I am currently looking at clay type substrates as they can increase ph, make the water harder or are inert, any of those is fine for me. Also it is imperative that the substrate does not cloud the water when moved about as i am new to aquascaping and will move stuff about constantly. Also has to be easily obtainable in the UK. I came across Alfagrog by accident and found out it can be used as a tank substrate.

Now the manufacturers do not claim it to be a good substrate for plants but they advertise as a good filter media as it is highly porous. They do a small 5mm grain size which is sold as being suitable as a substrate.

Since it is a fired clay, i am assuming it has a high CEC (cation exchange capacity). It does contain a whole array of minerals but because it is fired to a high temperature, i am unsure if the plant roots can absorb any of it. Apparently the minerals do not leach into the water and does not alter the water column PH.

So has anyone used it as a plant substrate?

The substrate is the most important factor in an aquarium. It has to be suitable to form a bed for many different species of bacteria, far more than live in the filter. Live plants rooted in the substrate also factor in. And of course, fish species, as some need sand for instance.