Aggressive pearl gourami

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

kflex

Reaction score
Hi there, thanks in advance to anyone who comments on this post as I am a newbie to this forum and am looking for advice!

I own and operate a 20 gallon (tall) community tank. It's been setup for nearly 6 months and is inhabited by 2 swords, 6 neons, 1 SAE, 2 otos, and 2 pearl gouramis. Not knowing a lot about sexing gouramis before buying them (shame on me!) I un-educatedly walked away from my LFS with 2 males (they were in the same tank at my LFS and looked incredibly happy). Lukily, everything has been fine up until 10 days ago...

I noticed 1 of the gouramis had begun to hang-out in one corner of the tank. To this day, I have never seen it chase the other pearl or any of the other fish away from its corner. Around the same time, I noticed a dramatic increase in size in the suddenly territorially sensitive gourami. This larger gourami appears to have reached full maturity and significantly dwarfs the other.

Over the last 10 days, I also noticed that the smaller male had become injured. It originally looked to me like an infection so I began treating the tank with MelaFix. It has become apparent to me that this is not a sickness, but more likely a result of the other male being overly aggressive. The smaller pearl is missing most of its dorsal and pelvic fins. It it not puzzy or infected looking -- they appear to have been nipped away. It's eyes are fine, but other fins never seem fully 'expanded' -- they look folded/scared. It is still swimming on plane but definitely not well. The large pearl has become quite pale in color.