Advice, please! Tank light broken, which replacement to buy?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

AdoraBelle Dearheart

Nutty fish nutter
Tank of the Month 🏆
Reaction score
I'm a tech dunce, and get completely lost when people talk about par etc. So I only want a pretty simple light that doesn't involve too much programming etc. I'm happy with my low tech planted tanks, but I'd still like a light that is good to keep my plants healthy! The light that's broken was a cheapy I bought like three years ago, so it hasn't done too bad. But Nicrew always has good reviews, inexpensive, and the nicrew lights on my other tanks seem to be fine, the plants are doing well. I do find the daylight setting a bit yellowish though... I did like that this one, the light was whiter/brighter, so if anyone has other suggestions in the same sorta £25- £35 price range, I'd love to hear them!

But looking at Amazon Nicrew lights, I'm so lost! There are so many, and I get so confused looking at par etc. I can't even tell the differences really, let alone which would be better. Please, someone who understands lighting, and low tech planted, like @mbsqw1d , @seangee, @Byron or @Wills , what lights do you guys like/suggest/hate?

These are the three I've been looking at, but I'm not 100% to sticking with Nicrew.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01HI42IB4/?tag=

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08BFN196G/?tag=

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08CXL9GBW/?tag=

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I'm in a very similar situation. For 30 years I've been using T8 fluorescent, and having tried many of the different tubes I found those that worked very well. Now the problem is, they are discontinuing T8 most places. My tubes are due for replacement (T8 are useful 12 months, then need replacing) and I am seriously thinking of LED. Much to decide.