40% water cycle but ammonia still high

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to enter! šŸ†

chrisjcb

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm just starting out with a freshwater setup and have a question. I have a 60ltr tank, with 4 x Black Widow Tetra and 2 x Gourami. The tank has been in place for the last 3 weeks and I have been cycling the water every week (around 60%). The tank was filled and running for one week before the fish went in. I'm adding API QuickStart and StressCoat to every cycle.

I'm worried the ammonia levels remain very high. My Nitrate test kit shows no readings, so the cycle has not completed, and ammonia seems to be building quickly. I have just cycled around 40% of the tank water this evening. I took a reading and was surprised the levels were still very high (2ppm). So I did it again and took a sample from the bucket before I put the water into the tank, as well as another reading from the tank after the water was added. (just to make sure there is nothing wrong with the test kit).

See attached for the photo. Am I just dealing with a spike and should 'ride it out' with another water change in 2 days, or should I change more of the water (80%)?

Any help appreciated,
Chris

Attachments

• readings.jpeg
    readings.jpeg
    179 KB · Views: 71
keeep on normally changing it, i dont think 80% is a good idea

Hello :)

First of all just a heads up that to avoid confusion you need to adjust your lingo from ā€œjust cycled around 40% of the tank waterā€ to ā€œ just did a 40% WATER CHANGEā€. If you ā€œcycleā€ a tank it means that you have successfully completed the multiple weeks long process of building up the necessary biological filter to balance the water parameters of the tank. (And itā€™s impossible to cycle only a percentage of the tankā€”itā€™s all or nothing).