20 Gallon single cichlid community stocking ideas?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Filip

Reaction score
Hello!
I am fairly new to fishkeeping, only a few years (so nota complete beginner), and I want to take up a really nice centerpiece fish for my 20 Gallon high that I'm going to be setting up soon.
I was thinking a Kribensis, since it is small, pretty chill, and doesn't cost much. I was thinking of adding some live plants to help w/ the nitrogen cycle, and my stocking idea was this:
1x: Kribensis Cichlid
5x: Albino Cory
8x: Neon Tetra
Is this ok? I really want a nice centerpiece fish, other than a gourami, since I have had some bad experiences with them being aggressive.
I usually check my fish stocking on this website: http://www.aqadvisor.com/AqAdvisor.php I usually go 10-20% bellow what it says is ok so it has a margin for error or room for babies...
I would also like to add some plants like Amazonian swords or anubias, easy plants since cichlids like to dig around in the gravel, so the plants should be ok?
I would appreciate any suggestions/tips you have!
oh, I have a 150 Marineland penguin filter!

What are your GH and ph? :)

What are the tank dimensions (length x width x height)?
a 20h is 24in x 12in x 16in
Hello!
I am fairly new to fishkeeping, only a few years (so nota complete beginner), and I want to take up a really nice centerpiece fish for my 20 Gallon high that I'm going to be setting up soon.
I was thinking a Kribensis, since it is small, pretty chill, and doesn't cost much. I was thinking of adding some live plants to help w/ the nitrogen cycle, and my stocking idea was this:
1x: Kribensis Cichlid
5x: Albino Cory
8x: Neon Tetra
Is this ok? I really want a nice centerpiece fish, other than a gourami, since I have had some bad experiences with them being aggressive.