Yes, I'm new and can not disappoint grandson

Mary Billo

Reaction score
Hello everyone........ I am kind of new to the fish world, My 4yr old grandson "Edward" LOVES to watch fish and 5 years ago one of his grandpas passed. Our son has given me his fathers old 20 gal fish tank so Edward and I can raise fish together. Last year Edward and I had a very small 2 gal tank and every fish I tried to put in it died.... Edward lets everyone know he had 3 fish and named them all "Gramms" after yours truly. The truth is there were 3 groups of 3 fish..... When my precious grandson realized the tank was empty again---- Edward turned to me and said "Gramms, don't worry they all went on vacation and as soon as they get done they will be home...." Sooooooo, I hope I'm a fast learner and ya all don't get tired of my ?'s

I have the gravel well rinsed and the tank filled, The pump and heater are working and I added the de-chlorinator tabs. The water is kind of cloudy, how long will it take to clear up and when should I add fish? and what are the best fish to start with? Thanks everyone

ok so its a twenty gallon tank right?
What kind of gravel? preferably go with sand if you have time to switch.
Plants or no plants?
type of fish you want or like?
whats your water parameters?
Also welcome to the forum.
What kind of filtration?
No don't add fish until the tank is cycled, could take up to a month.

Yes, 20 gal. I have gravel from pet store the bottom is covered with about 2". No plants as of yet. Wasn't going to get any until im better at this stuff. I have a TopFin 30 filtration pump, I want fish that are somewhat hardy at least to start with. I can't stand it if I kill them from making mistakes. Our water is city water and I do not have a softener. I apperaite any help you can offer

I have gravel from pet store
Yes but what kind?
examples: pea gravel, that colorful junk, sand, etc etc

fish that are somewhat hardy at least to start with
Guppies are the hardiest of fish.