Why My Molly Hiding

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

eddy6

Reaction score
hi i was just woundering why my silver balloon molly is hiding all the time, she is pregnant because we have seen the black spot by her fin. We have moved her from the main tank to a small tank where she can be on her own because the other mollys keeped on chasing her. Here is a picture of the tank and please tell me if its ok to leave her there until she has give birth.
Image011.jpg

here is some of here hiding places.
Image009.jpg

Image013.jpg

Im no expert, but id say shes ready to give birth, turn the lights off for a bit and avoid stressing her out.

Oh and keep a close eye on her when shes given birth, sometimes livebarers die after giving birth.

ok i will do but is this all fine for a molly to hide like this because she is the only one in the tank so no fish can stress her out

Firstly she a balloon molly and these are very fat fish and almost impossible to tell their pregnant untill they give birth

Secondly the tank will be fine for her, once she settles in she'll be out and about
Keep the lights off for now though to help her settle in.

because she is white i have seen the black spot behind her fin so i know she is pregent but can some-one let me know if she is stressed out or she she is getting ready do give birth :good: we have got her from the main tank which i could post pictures of it if anyone wants to see it. she has been in that tank for two days but she only eats small amounts of flaked food.

She's stressed ATM but she'll settle down.

She dont look to large in size ATM so she may need to do a little more growing she'll have babies at some point but again with balloon mollies their very difficualt to say how close their are as there fat fish due to the deformed body shape.