Why my Balloon Molly wont give birth?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

celestialpoet

Reaction score
Recently I became obsessed with balloon mollies. Anyone with one can understand why. Come on yah know they are cute..he he.. anyways I bought My first is all black Balloon molly, she was big when I bought her and now even bigger. I'm new at this fish stuff, but her tummy is round and a little squarish. She also have a White Spot under her tail fin that buldges out a bit. My molly has also benn harassing the other mollies by nipping at them. I assume shes pregnant, but just wont give birth. I had Bought Two Balloon Mollies after her and they gave birth in the bag they came home from the store in. Now im wondering why she wont give birth. What should I do?

Any comments will help. Thank you.. bethany
:dunno:

:hi: to the forum. Introduce yourself in the newbie section.

Maybe she just isn't ready to give birth. :dunno: You've got to wait. Just because it isn't giving birth, it doesn't mean that there's a problem just yet. They give birth faster at high temperatures, but they might not give birth if they are harrassed and overly stressed out. Don't try moving it and don't pester it and add places for it to hide in.

The fish in the bag gave birth prematurely. They were stressed out and were forced to drop their kids.

:thumbs: Just be patient and soon you'll have tons of fry. I love balloon mollies too! I guess it's their plump belly that make them looks so cute! :wub: I once bought a very pregnant female balloon molly and when she was still in her bag, I noticed tiny orange fry cuddled in the corner. She delievered her fry while still in her bag and ended up having 19! :D

Your balloon molly on the top right hand corner is pregnant. The other two don't look to be...