White Fluff

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

paolo

Reaction score
Hi, newbie here. We have just bought and set up an aquarium for our son, we have had the tank up and running for two weeks and have 5 guppies and 3 shrimps in it. Yesterday morning we noticed what I can only describe as white fluff lying on the bottom of the tank and the water smells a bit off. There is a fair bit of uneaten food on the bottom, (flake food) so I wonderd if it was anything to do with that.

Oh dear :( Where to start....

I'm sorry to tell you but it sounds like you are already several paces down the wrong road.
I'm presuming from what you have said that you have not cycled the tank at all before putting the fish in? This is not unusual, but will make things difficult for you and give you a lot of work from this point on for the few weeks certainly.

What capacity is the tank, and what filtration are you running?

The food on the bottom is a bad sign of severly overfeeding, which is something you REALLY want to avoid right now.

You will need to get yourself a decent liquid test kit, the one most commonly used on here is the API Freshwater Master Test Kit.
Also if you do not have a gravel vacuum syphon you will be wanting to get one of those.

At the moment the ammonia levels in your tank, (produced by the fish, fish waste, and decaying matter), will probably be sky high. The filter would normally remove this, but as you haven't cycled the filter the bacteria culture won't have grown in there yet, and as such at the moment the filter isn't yet doing it's job properly.
The problem with this is that Ammonia is HIGHLY toxic to the fish :(

My first advice is;

- Get that decaying food out of there
- Get the white fluff out of there
- Do a water change on the tank of around 50%, (making sure you add dechlorinator to the new water before you add it)