White Fluff-Help?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Kim3

Reaction score
Ok, so Hi! I'm new here and am struggling a little.

I've only recently (since December) started keeping fish (save for the indestructible goldfish I had as a kid) so im a super newb! I house share with a guy who has 2 tanks and knows pretty much what he's doing so I've had good guidance and very few accidents as yet but now I'm stumped!

I have a 23l fluval edge (I know now how awful they are but I was naive) and in it I have a betta, a pit bull plec, a hillstream loach/butterfly plec and a mini albino cory. All is well, everyone's happy as far as I can tell.
I've also got a coconut cave, a piece of driftwood with a plant attatched and another small plant. It's the driftwood that's causing me the problems.

I bought it from my local fish shop and it was already in a tank with fish, I got it home soaked it and rinsed it before putting it in but since I've had it it's growing fluff! It looks like cottony mould and I can't get rid of it. I spoke to the guys in the shop and they say it's a fungal problem and gave me some fungus and finrot medication which I've used but it hasn't worked. Unfortunatly I haven't got water parameters etc for you guys but as far as we're aware the waters fine, it's part changed weekly.

The fluff doesn't bother me, as unsightly as it is, but I noticed that my betta has a tiny patch on his side that's pale and grey and the pit bull plec is rapidly losing his fins! I thought he was being nipped but now I'm not so sure!

I hope someone can help and I'm sorry about the essay. Thanks in advance guys xx