Which External Filter To Buy? Help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Kik962

Reaction score
Hi all, Just joined the forum and would be grateful for any advice regarding external filters.

I have been keeping tropical fish now for a few years, however had no experience with external filters.

Last night our 5 foot Juwel Rio 400 tank decided to burst flooding the entire room. Amazingly all of our fish have survived and are now living in temporary homes and seem to happy.

Today we went to Maiden Head Aquatics to look at new tanks and hoefully will be getting a new 5 foot solid oak tank (400 litres). It was there we were shown external filters and was suprised how excellent they seem to be. The man in store showed us an Aquamanta EFX 400, and said this would be suitable for a 400 litre tank.

However on coming home and researching external filters, it has totally blew my mind as so many people state otherwise regarding size. From what I have seen some people are stating the size of the filter for the size of the tank needs to be 2400LPH.

Very Confused! Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in Advance
Kind Regards

Kik962

i think alot of people are under the false impression of "the more filtration, the better".....this is not true one bit....excessive filtration does not improve anything at all....all it does is waste electricity.....

if water conditions are poor in an aquarium 99% of the time its caused by a lack of aquarium maintainance, and has nothing to do with the filter itself....

the Aquamanta EFX 400 would be enough....or if you want to go the HOB route i would highly recommend an Aquaclear 110/500

I think that actually people are under the impression that "overfiltration isn't a bad thing", which is true. 2400lph on a 400l tank, ie 6x turnover, isn't unreasonable. There's one bloke on here that has his, IIRC, at 10x turnover. I personally have the EFX200 on a 100l tank.