The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

bluesword23516

Fish Addict
Reaction score
I have never done a lot of live plants, but now that I have a big tank (30 gallons) I to add lots of live plants.  I have mollies, guppies, a few different tetras, a zebra danio, and a chinese golden algae eater.  I have a small fern like plant.  I have gotten a few grassy plants before but they only last a few months. I want something that will last a long time but also wont cost a lot.  I am in high school and currently don't have a job.  Its not something I can put a ton of money into.  Anyways what are some good, hardy freshwater plants? (I also have rocks as my bottom stuff)

Java fern and anacharis are good ones. They don't have big light requirements and.dont need co2 or fertilizer added. I have several of each and they are very hardy. I also have a crypto corn and an Anubis plant that have been very easy to care for too. I am pretty new to the hobby but those plants have worked for me. Had them all for 6 months and they are still going strong with no extra effort from me.

will  anacharis and java fern grow in gravel?  will any other plants with low requirements grow in gravel?

Everything I listed is doing well in gravel in my tank. As I said, I'm not an expert just saying what works for me.

You could buy an amazon sword plant, not too hard and a great background plant. look it up on liveaquaria.com they should give you good info on plants. you might also want to consider root tabs (only about $8-9) to put in your substrate, It will work wonders for your plants. dwarf hair grass isn't too bad to take care of, just a bit hard to keep in the substrate without your fish plucking them out.