What Plants Are Best?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Silencedogood

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm rather new to tropical fish and I currently have 4 platys, 1 neon tetra, and a pleco. I want to put live plants in my main tank (30 gal) but I'm not sure what plants are best. Actually, I have no plant experience whatsoever besides some for a little while (I think they were some type of hysteria) which were specifically for fry.
Thanks!

I'm kind of a beginner to plants myself, but here are a few that I've been able to keep alive and actually grow, which to me equals success:
- Anubias
- Brazilian penny wort
- Vals
- Anacharis

What care do live plants need, if any? And do certain plants need certain water parameters? Is it okay to order plants from amazon? Not sure what shape they'll come in. Sorry for the questions.:)
Thanks in advance!

What type of light do you have on the tank?
How many watts does the light globe have?
How long is the light on for?
What are the tank dimensions?

Live aquarium plants need light and if they don't get enough they won't do well. Depending on how high/ tall the tank is will determine how much light you need.

Assuming there is sufficient light, you can try the following plants: Ambulia, Hygrophila polysperm & H. ruba/ rubra, Ludwigia, Elodia/ Hydrilla, narrow Vallis, common Amazon Sword plant, Water Sprite (Ceratopteris thalictroides/ cornuta).

Water sprite is a floating plant but can also be grown in the substrate. The other plants should be grown in the gravel.

Have the light on for about 12 hours per day. If you get lots of green algae growing on everything then reduce the lighting times by a couple of hours.

------------------------