Water Issues

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

IrishMom

Reaction score
Hi! Newbie here. I have a lot of story here - so forgive me if it's long.

I have a 5gallon Fluval spec V tank with a small heater. Bought it from a local fish store who told me I could easily have 4 glofish tetras. They set up the tank for me and my tetras lived happily for a couple months until we had a horrible accident. Before that I really did absolutely no research, just relied on what the fish store told me.

I was vacuuming the gravel, and one of the fish jumped out of the tank into a cup (one in a million fluke). I quickly poured him back into the tank. Then I realized my horrifying mistake. There had been soap in the cup. The jumper fish died immediately. I tried to pull the fish out into clean water but it was too little too late. I lost them all.

So I started over. I did some research and I emptied everything from my tank, rinsed and wiped it down thoroughly. Got new EVERYTHING except the biological filter media. I had pulled it out pretty quickly and rinsed it.

So I filled up the new tank and put in a bacteria stone and some quick start. Bought an API master test kit and started testing the water.

After a few days, my Ammonia levels went to zero. My ph was still pretty high (I was mixing distilled water and tap water treated with Prime in a 50% mix. That only brought the pH down to 8.2.

But I figured if pH was stable I was probably ok. So I decided to go get daughter a betta and a snail.

The betta seemed quite happy (exploring, eating, showing us his fins and following us) for 2 days and then started looking sick. I checked the water and my ammonia was back up. So obviously the tank hadn't been ready for him after all. My nerite snail is still doing quite well.