Very Shallow Aquarium - Too Shallow?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Merkin

Reaction score
Hi All, I am new to this so please bare with me.

I am constructing an aquarium with the dimensions of 900mm x 900mm x 85mm deep (36" x 36" x 3 1/2" deep). Out of necessity it cannot have any changes to these dimensions.

Is this going to be too shallow to keep fish in? I imagine that it would depend on the fish though I am sure there is a recommended minimum. Has anyone managed to keep fish in such shallow water or is there something else I could keep in the tank such as small turtles?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

Brad

Well, that's a brain teaser...I can't think of anything...

What about cories? Might be even too shallow for them...I don't know if they need height or not, but mine stay on the bottom almost always. Maybe another catfish that's usually a bottom dweller....

Would have though most Tetras and rasboras would be OK :good: The real problem will be filtering it. :nod:

Great! I was hoping I could get some Tetras in there, will have to find out what a rasbora is though... :)

Thanks!
Brad

Just out of interest, what is stopping you making the tank taller?

I would have thought, apart from shrimp or dwarf frogs, there wouldn't be anything really suitable for such a shallow tank.

IMHO it will be fine as long as you stick to small fish, the smaller the better. Pygmy corys and small tetras are suitable. Killies are too jumpy, they will hit their heads and kill themselves on whatever requires the tank to be this shallow (I'm interested to know!)

Edit: Sparkling gouramis!

As a note my cory's spend a lot of time on the bottom (as you might expect), but also love nothing more than racing to the surface at high speed, and then zooming along the tank walls. Don't know if they HAVE to be able to do this, but they seem to like to be able to.