Very Heavily Pregnant Platy

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

krissykat

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Even tho I'm new at this its pretty obvious shes pregnant!
im just not sure how close to giving birth she is...
she dropped 3 fry (that I found) 18 days ago
I'm not sure how long it will be between drops?

15323_379700613873_516043873_3558191_671110_n.jpg

about 2 weeks ago after the first drop

now

26218_384232868873_516043873_3658483_263985_n.jpg

26218_384232878873_516043873_3658485_3052914_n.jpg

26218_384232883873_516043873_3658486_4621525_n.jpg

Might as well take her out the trap....

She aint ready to drop yet, she is over fed, the front of the belly is dropped cos she has eaten a lot, the bak end is not dropped, when they are ready to drop the back end drops as much as the front causing the fish to sqaure off, your is not..... if she dropped 18 days ago, she will probably drop again within the next 10-17 (possibly 24) days... they ahve fry every 4-6 weeks and can hold sperm packets up to 6 months off one mating with a male.

Ckeck out THIS - this is my pinned thread with lots more info on knowing how to know when your fish will drop its fry, there is also videos in it as well of drops.

Here is your pic, i have done lines to represent what i mean...

Black line - Her normal size how she should be.

Red line - Over fed (belly dropped too much at front)... this how yours is

White line - How she will look when heavy pregnant.

I must agree with LM. I believe she looks like she is overfed, not heavy from carrying fry. At 2 weeks post drop, she has no less than 2 weeks to go. Please reduce her feeding before it affects her health.

Thanks for the advice.
I did look at your pinned post before joining the site,
really helpful and well done btw
but the pictures were a little too small so I couldn't really compare :(