Vertical Tiger Barb

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Spamtastic

Reaction score
Hi,
Ive finally registered for these forums after 3 months of using this as a great resource!
Im a noob with keeping fish tanks however, I adopted my brother-in-laws 20gal tank.
Ive only had one death in the 3 months Ive had the tank which was a very old Tiger Barb.

Ive come home today to find a female Tiger Barb bobbing up and down vertically and she keeps going upside down too!!! :( It seems like shes having trouble keeping her rear end down. Been looking around and just can't figure out whats wrong with her, 'breathing' appears normal, scales are flush with the body and this morning, she was feeding fine. I dont have a hospital tank so I have placed her in a breeding net to keep her from being harrassed.
Nitrates 5
Nitrites 0
Ammonia 0
pH 7.2

Stocked in the tank, I have:
Gary the Golden Gourami (My best friend!)
4 Serpae Tetras
6 Tiger Barbs

Any help would be very much appreciated! Thank you.

My tiger barbs go vertical most of the time, they're only resting but if she's going upside down then i don't know what it is.

Yeah Ive seen them go vertical but they stay in the same place, she cant keep still and she keeps almost doing roly-polys in the water.
Ill be heading to my LFS first thing in the morning! Firstly to get a hospital tank and also to see if there are any meds they reccommend.

i've never seen mine do rolls, i'm not an expert as i've only had tiger barbs for about 7 weeks now. I hope she'll be oright.

Okay, went to my LFS this morning and they said it could be a blockage so they suggested getting a cloth dampened with conditioned water, lying her on it and gently running my finger over her belly from front to back a couple of times. Ive also bought a small hospital tank for her so at least now she can be put totally to one side while recovering.