Urgent!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Violet12345

Reaction score
Hello all.. I have a bit of a crisis. My gold gourami is very bloated.. I'm not sure why. I'm new to the hobby but I know this doesn't look good. The gourami is also passing white poo with some red looking strings hanging down? The scales don't look like they are pineconing. It's swimming fine but wanting to stay at the top of the tank. My parameters are good. Ammonia is 0, nitrites are 0, and nitrates are like .5. I would hate to loose this gourami.. it's one of my favorites!

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

How long has the tank been set up for?
Has the filter cycled?
How often do you do water changes and how much water do you change?
Do you gravel clean the substrate when you do the water change?

--------------------------
Fish do a stringy white poop for several reasons.
1) internal bacterial infection causes the fish to stop eating, swell up like a balloon, breath heavily at surface or near a filter outlet, do stringy white poop, and die within 24-48 hours of showing these symptoms. This cannot normally be cured because massive internal organ failure has already occurred.

2) internal protozoan infection cause the fish to lose weight rapidly (over a week or two), fish continues to eat and swim around but not as much as normal, does stringy white poop. If not treated the fish dies a week or so after these symptoms appear. Metronidazole normally works well for this.
There is a medication (API General Cure) that contains Praziquantel and Metronidazole and sometimes help with this.