Uncycled, fish seem ok?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Stephen McGeough

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Total noob here wondering if this is normal, any insight or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

So 15 days ago I purchased a fluval flex aquarium (34L) and some live plants (bacopa & anubias). I installed a 25 watt heater and added stress coat & quick start both from API.

I added some conditioner for the plants and because I'm not using co2 I added some co2 supplement. I let the tank run for 5 days with a few fish flakes in it. I then did a 70% water change and added 3 male guppies. The guppies have been fine now for more than a week with 25% water changes everyday.

Is it normal for fish to be doing so well after such a short time in an environment such as this?

Thanks in advance. Stevie

Normally, fish should do well almost immediately after being added to your tank. It sometimes take a few hours for them to become accustomed to new surroundings. I would be a bit concerned that you didn't do a long enough cycle before adding fish, however. Did you test your water prior to adding them to be sure ammonia, nitrite, and nitrates were at acceptable levels (0 ppm for ammonia and nitrites, <40 ppm for nitrates)?

Hey thank you for your reply.

No I have not test the water in the tank but I see no signs of distress with my guppies. They are doing well. It's been 8 days in the tank and I see nothing but good results. I'm just worried that one day they will all just go in one fell swoop.

Stevie

If they haven't shown any signs of distress thus far, I think you're safe. I Would, however, begin testing your water regularly. Many people use a simple strip that tests PH, Nitrate, Nitrite, and hardness, but I don't believe their overly accurate. I prefer the API Master Test Kit, which tests each parameter individually.